Growing Up

When you are young, the world is black and white. You see the world through your eyes. Innocent eyes. People are either good or bad. Your parents are right (most of the time). Then once you get older and start becoming a teenager and you develop your own opinions and views. You think you know who you are, your friends are always right, your parents are wrong (most of the time).

At 14 I thought I was an adult. I thought I knew it all. I knew who I was, what I wanted and I understood everything. I had such strong views in my black and white world. I made a lot of bad choices and I missed a lot of opportunities due to the fact I was so stubborn. I only saw my point of view.  And although made mistakes, I also learnt new lessons. The world started getting more and more grey. People become both good and bad. Life isn’t as easy nor as hard as it looks. I too started to change. My mind is so much more open. I try to understand people, even if their decisions are ones I can’t agree with. It is okay. Everyone is different.

Heraclitus said “The Only Thing That Is Constant Is Change”.

The constant change in ourselves and the world is all part of us growing up. Life is constantly evolving and improving. This is why growing up is so important and exciting.

In 10 years, I will be rolling my eyes and choices I made in my 20s. I will want to go back in time and tell myself “Girl.. you should not have gone there”. But all those mistakes and life lessons are going to keep me growing to become a better person. So don’t be afraid to live your life. Don’t be afraid of making decisions which might not be the right choice; one day you will be thankful you did.

Leave a Reply

