UK Bound – January 2016

This week confirmed my future.. my VISA was approved.

On Thursday morning I was frantically refreshing the courier tracking page to see if the package had arrived. My sister was at my house (I begged her to wait around  for my package). They had emailed on Monday saying they had “made a decision”. Not knowing the outcome was painful. Then I got the call. “It says you have been approved for some.. ancestry thing” my sister said.

I was ecstatic. Also terrified.

My back up plan was to tour Europe, spend a couple of weeks in London and then go to Australia. I have heaps of friends there, it is close to home and the money exchange is much better. I know practically no one in the UK, my money will be halved and it is on the other side of the world. Of course – this makes it a lot more exciting!

Now that this is actually becoming real, I have a shit load of things to do. Get a job, find accommodation, get decent winter wear (otherwise I won’t last a day) etc. The job market is going to be a lot more competitive over there considering there are 8.5 million people in London alone.. double the amount of people in New Zealand. This is just more of a challenge to make myself stand out more. Also – my dream job of becoming a dog walker could actually become a reality with that many people.

This is the start to a new adventure in my life. I am so fucken happy.

 

Leave a Reply

